School board elections 2013: San Antonio ISD

Four seats on the San Antonio ISD Board of Trustees are on the May 11 ballot; two incumbents have drawn opponents, but only one race (District 4) is truly contested.

District 1: Steve Lecholop (campaign website) is running unopposed; trustee Rubén Cuero, Vice President, did not seek re-election.

District 3: Incumbent Debra Guerrero, nominated in February 2012, will face an opponent on the ballot—Chris Alvarado—despite the fact that Alvarado tried to withdraw from the race, but missed the deadline. “Although candidate quit, SAISD has to pay for vote”, Maria Luisa Cesar, San Antonio Express-News, March 22, 2013.

District 4: Fernando Velazquez, Arthur Valdez, Jr., and John Graciano are challenging incumbent Adela Segovia, Assistant Secretary. Read more in this post.

District 7: Board President Ed Garza (campaign website) is running unopposed.

The remaining board members:

  • District 2: James Howard
  • District 5: Patti Radle
  • District 6: Olga Hernandez, Secretary

More information in this earlier post and at Bexar County Elections.

Share with friends:


A nonprofit that helps parents to research school options and become advocates for high quality education.