School board elections 2013: Southwest ISD

Three candidates are on the May 11 ballot for two at-large seats on the Southwest ISD Board of Trustees. UPDATE: “Three vie for two seats in Southwest ISD”, Maria Luisa Cesar, San Antonio Express-News, May 1, 2013.

Incumbents Sylvester Vasquez, Jr., Vice-President, and Ida Sudolcan, Secretary, are seeking reelection. Challenger Phillip Vargas is also running. The two candidates who get the most votes will win.

The remaining board members:

  • Mike C. Frazier, President; term ends May 2014
  • James Sullivan, Jr., Assistant Secretary; term ends May 2015
  • Florinda Bernal; term ends May 2015
  • Keith Byrom; term ends May 2015
  • Yolanda Garza-Lopez; term ends May 2014

More information in this earlier post.

Share with friends:


A nonprofit that helps parents to research school options and become advocates for high quality education.